A personal prayer at the end of this year

ryan-james-christopher-382741-unsplash
Dear Lord,
As this year comes to an end, I stand before you with gratitude for the ways in which you have led me this year.
My heart weighs with dashed hopes and unfinished business that I could not offer you with perfection. Our offerings are not only imperfect but also incomplete.

What do I have to offer? Nothing but myself, empty once again. As the prayer goes, I offer the only thing I can truly give, my ability to be filled.  Take it me and fill me with your Spirit and discipline, with your eyes and your ears and your feet that reach out to the needy.
As the ocean tide rumbles and tumbles violently, please calm my boat. Please come into my boat and say, “Be still!” Not only do the waves need to hear it, but also does my racing heart that’s spinning, having lost its bearings and confidence.
Lord I do not have the confidence of doing the things that you have given me the opportunity to do. Help me be your child, rather your sheep, that listens to the voice of the shepherd and follows him without questions. I am overwhelmed. Teach me calmness and holy confidence. You have given me an abundant life even within our limitations in life. Allow me to experience it with joy and share that joy with the ones around.
Lord, this year held great promise. You blessed us more and more. Help me to pay it forward rather than try to pay it back to you. Please keep me in your radar.
Be with me and my family as we minister to you and our larger family, that is your children. Give us strength and stamina to walk, run and persevere for you.
Wipe away all distractions that take us away from you and your calling. May my mind be clear enough to hear your still, small voice, always.
When you make me stand on the rock, keep me from feeling dizzy and fainting, instead help me minister wherever you put me. Help me see the view from the top and enjoy it. In the valley hold my hand so that I can follow you not because of the dim light but the clarity of your voice and the strength of your hand that holds me.
I am ready. I am ready to walk blindly with you because, what I see and what I think deceives me. I see myself in a very distorted manner and constantly feel low about myself and what my capabilities are.
Let your light shine upon me. May my life shine your light that they may see your good works and praise our Father in heaven.
Amen

Leave a comment