My life be like… ooo aaa ooo – Part 1

There are some definitive changes I wish to bring about in my life, today on. Actually, yesterday on, since I made the list last evening.

I have been observing pastors and trying to emulate some of their good qualities. Having seen pastors of all shapes and sizes all my life, the realization that I have a long way to go dawns, not infrequently. It is a good thing, I take it. So here are some things with respect specifically to communication I have been a resource person to many camps, sessions, retreats, etc. like never before in my life (more about those humbling experiences in another post) and you have to communicate with the organizers  before and after the programme. I think I have not been doing that well. What makes me say so? Because the way some pastors went about it made me feel dignified, appreciated and made me think, “ hmm… that is a good way of doing things.”

So this is a list of pastoral qualities I observed in pastors around me which I would like to emulate, with immediate effect (That sounds more like a statement issued by an authority…hmm….). The list includes some non-pastors as well.

1. Be like Rev. Abey when it comes to pre-programme calls and follow up.

When he is in charge of a programme, expect calls well in advance to inform you about the event, its specifics, etc. He will discuss it with you over the days and seek your opinion and by the time the ministry begins, you have a tab on what’s going to happen and you are well prepared. 

He will inform you of the requirements and ask you what you might need. Changes in the plan are promptly informed. 

A reminder, a programme-eve check and a post-programme appreciation call is part of his approach. Looks good to me.

You value your resource person this way and forge a new relationship with that person. If I were an organizer of something I would do that.

(Continued in the next post…)

One thought on “My life be like… ooo aaa ooo – Part 1

Leave a Reply

